We are a public university in accordance with the Federal law on the universities of applied sciences (University of Applied Sciences Act, FHSG) and are part of the University of Applied Sciences of Eastern Switzerland. FHS St.Gallen is funded by an inter-cantonal concordat between the cantons of St.Gallen, Thurgau, Appenzell Ausserrhoden and Appenzell Innerrhoden. The FHO is one of the eight universities of Applied Sciences in Switzerland. Universities of Applied Sciences, like normal universities, are legally recognised universities.